Handicapped People in America

Posted: July 6, 2012 in ADVOCACY, MEPI PROJECT
Tags: , , , , , ,

       I cannot believe I have twisted and fractured my foot for the first time in my life in AMERICA! When everyone  was having fun, I spent most of my time figuring out how to use the wheelchair and the crutches.  It breaks my heart that I am not able to experience the MEPI Adventure and my first trip outside Yemen to the fullest. However, this disability drew my attention to how easy life could be for handicapped people in the USA.

I was running to my room in yesterday in the morning at the dormitory of Georgetown University to pick up an important phone call. I  was running so fast that i fractured my foot. Then my mentor David Hee Lee the founder of the NGOs called the Georgetown University medical care. Just as soon as David hang up the phone, they were around the corner. That was amazing. I mean in some other countries, people die waiting for an ambulance to come! They took good care of me and took me to the Georgetown hospital where they took x-ray for my foot. They treated me extra medical care of my foot. I loved the way they treated me.

As soon as we left the hospital (with the wheelchair and the free crutches), we found on every pavements slides for wheelchairs. Thus it was easy for me not hurt myself while being on the streets. To get to the cafeteria, we also found a way for handicapped people to get in and out of the place. Then after having lunch, it was time for our class. the class was on the second floor, and it was not hard for me to get there. There was also away for people with disabilities to reach the elevator without having to use any kind of stairs. It is amazing how all people here can have the same experience of easy life equally. Personally, I respect such places where everyone is engaged in the community regardless of any obstacles or impairments they have.

At the end, I would like to really thank David for being their when I needed him the most. I also thank all my MEPI friends who helped me pushing the wheelchair in this heated weather, and who are standing by my side. Thank you MEPI’s of Georgetown university and thank you Marie, Anwar, Marina, Taher, Randa, and Ammar for staying with me.

Comments
  1. Kamel Dakhia says:

    I’d like to thank you for sharing this experience, I noticed different things from it, I admired the good medical treating in U.S.A. and also I liked how David and the others took care of you and this tells that there’s a good relation between who participating in the MEPI program, a good relation that is beyond the differences in race.

    • Yeah. They are really nice with me and I hope that I can make it to them as soon as I get better. Also you are right about relationships with others. A good relation with someone can lessen your pain. And I am thankful to god because I have those amazing people around me that I really learned that one true friend is better than ten fake friends, and you don’t have to be friend with everybody. I am blessed with those friends. Thank you kamal.

  2. omalreda says:

    Anhar OMG you twisted your foot and you didn’t tell us ,come on girl ,take care of yourself more ,I know that was destiny but I really feel sorry for you ,its happen only in America ,I hope you will be ok soon and run in the university again .Take care sis

    • i know it’s really frustrating.. i’m sure it happened for a good reason though. God knows better than i do. so thank God anyways. just make sure not to tell my sisters and mom!! she’ll be panicked. inshallah i’ll start running soon 😀

      • Kamel Dakhia says:

        ” i’m sure it happened for a good reason though ” .. well said ❤ .. 🙂

  3. all of u are saying this too. inshallah. 😀

  4. Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: inspirationanhar.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/handicapped-people-in-america/ […]…

  5. More Info says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: inspirationanhar.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/handicapped-people-in-america/ […]…

Leave a comment